Inspiration struck!…then it fizzled and died

I had an idea for the story I wanted to submit to S&S XXII and was feeling really excited as I started. Then as I got deeper and deeper I realized there was probably no way to do what I wanted within 9000 words. I think my biggest problem with writing short stories is that I like elaborateness and I like to build worlds. So when I write a short story it almost always comes off reading like an excerpt from a longer piece.  DAMMIT! It would be easier if I had the option of any genre within Fantasy but since it’s sword & sorcery only I is stuck! I have a few ideas for short Urban Fantasy pieces but none for S&S fantasy.

I need to start with a simpler idea. I’ll keep trying though.

Leave a Reply

