Wiscon Update

I make a vow to blog at least every other day, even if it’s something short and innocuous. I don’t know if I’ll keep this vow, since finals are coming up awful fast, but I’ll try.


So the Wiscon panels I discussed being on were from the preliminary schedule. Now that everything is firmed up there has been two changes. I’m still on the panels “Why Is The Universe So Damn White?” & “What These People Need Is A Honky” but am no longer moderating/on the panel “After The Empire”. I can’t help but feel this is for the best, it being my first trip to Wiscon and all. Maybe next year! The other change is that I’m now on this panel:
Colonialism…In…Space! (Politics, Race, Class, and Religion)
Sunday, 1:00-2:15 p.m. Sunday, 1:00-2:15 p.m. Sunday, 1:00-2:15 p.m.
This topic never gets old. Let’s rehash some of the first-contact scenarios in science fiction through the lens of real, historical first contact situations among world cultures. How alien is alien? How do recent examples of first-contact stories work with, reject, or subvert the same old stereotypes? Your thoughts on modern ideas of empire are also appreciated.

Hmmm…not something I have a whole lot of experience discussing in terms of books, I have however discussed this idea in regards to Sci-Fi TV shows. It looks like it’ll be really interesting and I’m not moderating so less pressure on me YAY!

Leave a Reply

