Pausing in my travels through the world of the Elemental Logic series.

I’m about 1/3 (maybe a 1/4) of the way through Water Logic and I’m avoiding reading anymore for now. Not because it’s not a fantastic novel but because I’ve come to some scenes that are very hard for me to deal with. To explain without spoiling, the storyline in question deals with prejudice and someone being treated as almost less than human.

Now Laurie J. Marks does not pull punches in this series at all. The Elemental Logic series is about occupation, rebellion and war. She deals with the effects of these things in a real way. Terrible things happen to her characters because in war terrible things happen. Throughout the first two novels, especially the first book there were many scenes that made me uncomfortable and made me put down the book for a few hours so I could calm myself and process before I read on.

This is different though and …yeah I put the book down on Thurs. and haven’t picked it up again because I need to deal with the feelings this is bringing up before I read on. The way Marks is writing it is very true to life and it’s just hard to read the derision, dismissal and outright disgust (alliteration is our friend!) and hate the character is being greeted with everywhere.

Since I was craving fantasy I decided to start another book I picked up at WisCon, Zahrah the Windseeker by Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu. It’s a YA title and let me just say it’s amazing! I started and finished it in one day and am just in love with it. Zahrah was born with dadalocks instead of “normal” hair and is ostracized by most because of this fact. See those born with dadalocks are said to be rebels or alternately wise women/men. They are rare and virtually unknown in the Ooni Kingdom, in fact Zahrah is the first person in her village to be born with dadalocks. If there’s anything the people of the Ooni Kingdom don’t like it’s the unknown. I’ll stop there because I’m going to write a recommendation post for the Feminist SF Blog but just know that I highly, highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

