More Links and a little bit about Grad School

Links-

There are four links from Pandagon that have been sitting in my Bloglines.

The first is about a grassroots minister with Hip Hop Caucus and how security tackled him to the ground for trying to enter an open hearing. I didn’t watch the video, after seeing that UCLA student repeatedly tazered a few months ago I have no stomach for youtube police brutality.

The Personal is Political. This blog post addresses a subject I’ve brought up with a lot of my female friends. Name changing after marriage, the inherent chattel element of it, the ownership of it. You don’t even get to own your name, to take theirs is a sign of belonging but not in the good way.

The end game of control. The book “Why Do They Kill?” is discussed. An interesting study done that address men who kill their female S.O.’s. I would never be able to read it because sexualized violence is my primary trigger but the post kind of makes me want to try.

Finally, Pam Spaulding posts on the lack of blogging about the Jena 6 from the more prominent progressive bloggers. It’s interesting because most if not all of the famous progressive bloggers are white and Pam does address that. She got a lot of flack for it and I find that interesting, it’s another excuse. Now they can’t write about the Jena 6 because they’ve been called on it *eyebrow raise* un-huh.

And to tie in with the Jena 6 stuff read this post over at Feministing for what the marchers had to deal with. Any of y’all think race had nothing to do with the case then why is the Mayor buddy-buddy with the KKK. Think racism is over? Why did people drive trucks with nooses hanging from them around the marchers?

From the blog of Small Press Juno Books, I find the writers reactions hilarious in their idiocy. The editor’s reaction is exactly what I would expect. How not to act when you want to get published, lesson one.

Over at Making Light, how to write the Sci-Fi book that would win every award. Came out of a panel and really just hilarious. If any writes this book…there are no words.

Okay that’s all of the links I’m posting for now. Slowly whittling away at the pinned posts.

Now when I met with my teacher who agreed to write me a letter of recommendation I was only intending to apply at SFSU, SJSU and a few others. Now however I’m thinking of applying to Mills College, NYU & Iowa (home of the best writing program in the country). So I’ll be in debt until the day I die because of the massive loans or hopefully I’ll be able to get a large amount of financial aid. We’ll see I have to decide which schools and send that info over to my recommended professor before the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

