NaNoWriMo!

It is National Novel Writing Month (www.nanowrimo.org) y’all! I have signed up for yet another year but going in I know I won’t get 50,000 words there is simply no way with everything going on. That does not however mean that I cannot try! My project for NaNoWriMo is neither of the novel ideas I’ve mentioned here before (for a variety of reasons none of which include me no longer being interested in them) instead I want to work on a collection of short stories all inspired by Linh Dinh’s poem “Borderless Body”. We’ll see how it goes.

So that post I’ve been yammering on and on about for Feminist SF will be up in the next two weeks. Have I started writing it yet? No but I’m making a vow. I feel I’ve been ignoring the blog and I love it so that cannot be allowed to happen. I’m going to make an effort to post a new entry every two weeks and see how that goes.

Currently Reading: Catherynne M. Valente’s The Orphan’s Tales – In The Cities of Coin and Spice It is a sequel (and the concluding volume) to The Orphan’s Tales – In The Night Garden an amazing Tiptree award winning novel that I adore. Valente is a poet as well as a fiction writer and that comes across in these books. Just amazing imagery that leaps of the page and descriptions that make my creative side salivate. She breaks “writing rules” like too many metaphors with impunity and it works so well. It simply adds to the fantastical and fairytale nature of the work. Also I got to hear her read at the last WisCon and she is an amazing reader.

Back to homework but I hope you all are well and writing (if that’s your thang).

Leave a Reply

