Wonderful, Exciting, Jaw-Dropping News with a sad corollary…

So I got a call yesterday to invite me to attend Clarion West!!!! I was so shocked I did not know what to do, shocked and pleased. It’s amazing to get that kind of validation on my writing because they only take those whose work is approaching publishable status. To think that industry professionals believe that about my work is just jaw-droppingly amazing. Also a friend told me they got a huge number of applications this year, so that makes it even more of an honor.

What is the sad corollary, you ask?

That I can’t attend, this year. I just got a job and started today I can’t very well tell them, “Hey I know I just started but I need 6 weeks off this summer.” So while I turned them down I did assert that I would definitely be reapplying next year. And I’ve made a decision that if they let me in next year I will go come hell or high-water. This is more than something I want to do, it’s something I need to do.

So there you go, amazing news, sad corollary but all in all it leaves me bouyant because I got in and no one can take that knowledge away from me.

7 responses to “Wonderful, Exciting, Jaw-Dropping News with a sad corollary…

  1. Oh no! Well congrats on getting in!

    Best of luck next year. Hope the job is a good one!

  2. Pingback: Writers Going to Clarion West | How Not To Write

  3. Oh man! Still, it’s awesome that you got in in the first palce!

  4. How Not To Write –

    Thanks! Yeah, the jobis actually the best I’ve ever had so while on one hand it was worth it from a financial and everyday life standpoint, from a writerly standpoint it sucks donkey balls. It has inspired me to start submitting again though which really is a great thing.

  5. Oyce –
    Yeah it’s a bummer but totally uplifting at the same time and as my friend said “Look at it this way, you’ve opened up a spot for someone who’ll be able to go and really benefit.” So yeah it’s good for someone else and good for my ego so I’m focusing on those.

  6. I hear you on the financial/life standpoint. I haven’t submitted anything in about 10 years so for me, the CW app was a way to get back into the game too. Good luck! 🙂

  7. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.
    Congrats and, um, bummer. But it’s great your job is going so well. And that grad school looms.

Leave a Reply

