Writing

So I’ve been doing a lot of link blogging (of course with my opinions thrown in because that’s the kind of person I am) lately so I figured it was time to update a little bit on me. I’m still waiting to hear back from my first choice Grad School but they said decisions would be made and letters mailed out this week so I should be hearing pretty soon. As for writing, I have successfully suppressed my ludditism an am actually doing pretty good. While I haven’t been working on my Novel-of-Doom as much as I’d like I have been writing a good 1000 words a day of a short story. I’m also showing the short story that got me into Clarion West to my writing group, once I have their notes I’m going to go through it once more and then start submitting it.

But the story I’m currently working on is a futuristic totalitarian society where for the most part people of color, women, queer folks and just outsiders in general have been hunted and driven underground. I started it after seeing this Call for Submissions for a Queer Utopia Anthology and I can hear you saying “But that doesn’t sound like any kind of utopia to me.” Yeah well, you’ll just have to hope it gets accepted so you can see how I tie it all together. And of course for me it’s important that this not become a simply Queer vs. Hetero thing because the issues of identity, assimilation, rebellion and oppression are not so simplistic and easily defined.

Anyway I’d say I’m about half-way through my first draft of it @ 3000 words and still kind of liking it. We’ll see how it goes from here. Hopefully be done by mid-next week.

Currently Reading:
Gynecology: The Metaethics of Radical Feminism by Mary Daly
White Teeth by Zadie Smith
Isis Rising by Jean Stewart

On Deck for Reading:
Fledgling by Octavia Butler
Paper Knives by Yoon Ha Lee

One response to “Writing

  1. Pingback: First Draft Complete! « Words From The Center, Words From The Edge

Leave a Reply

