Media Friday: In Honor Of Comic-Con

So sadly I could not afford to go to Comic-Con this year but I’ve been following some of the news coming out of it in some of my favorite blogs. The most exciting news I’ve heard is about this new comic about a lost hero known as the “Blue Marvel”, io9.com gives us the downlow:

Talking about the latest book, Grevioux explained that it’s a book that he’s always wanted to do. In the late 1950s and early ’60s, the most famous and well-loved hero in the Marvel Universe was the Blue Marvel… until it was revealed that he was, under the cowl, black. “In the ’60s, a black man with that much power wouldn’t have been perceived as very friendly, no matter the [intent],”explained Grevioux, which leads to President Kennedy asking the hero to go into hiding to help the burgeoning civil rights movement. His hiding works too well, and when the hero’s nemesis returns 40 years after his presumed death, it’s up to the Avengers to find the forgotten hero. (io9)[emphasis mine]

Head over to the link for some art of the Blue Marvel. I’m very (tentatively) excited about this, it shows an understanding of race relations that very often absent from other comics. I mean we’ll have to wait and see how it all goes down but I’m naming it a win for now.
Also in honor of Comic-Con, one of my favorite movie scenes ever. Hooper X goes the fuck of in the “diversity panel” of a comic book convention from Chasing Amy.

Happy Friday everyone, have a good weekend and for everyone down at Comic-Con in San Diego have a fantastic time and don’t forget to bring me a present!

2 responses to “Media Friday: In Honor Of Comic-Con

  1. From what I’ve heard, you didn’t miss much by not attending the Con. I’ve heard lots of complaints that it’s turned into a generic media con and that it’s impossible to get into panels.

  2. Phredd-

    Those were my exact reasons on not going last year, I was recovering from the year before and the insanity of getting into panels and dealing with some intense media problems (Comic-Con is not good on race, like tragically not good in a lot of cases – like Media SF in general really but it’s more angering because the idiots are right there saying the idiotic shit directly to you). But after resting up I think I’m ready to return next year, if only to see all of my friends that head down to CC.
    And I will say this of Comic-Con – it is a hotbed of sustained geekery and it’s kind of fun to be in that kind of space where I can be an unapologetic geek for a few days without explaining myself.

Leave a Reply

