Media Friday – Ming & Ping

I intended to post something else this week because I do want to try and keep to at least two posts per week but this particular week was a hard one so all you’re getting from me is the media post hopefully next week’ll be better. 

Since I talked about Masia One a couple of weeks ago I figured I should talk about another artist I saw at the same festival and immediately fell in love with – Ming & Ping!

Ming and Ping are twins born in Hong Kong but now based in San Francisco and their music gives me flashbacks to all the good parts of the 80s – the use of electronica, the make-up, the theatrics, the mystery (from their wikipedia article: Interest in the group is aided by many rumors that both twins are in fact the same performer. However, due to their rare public appearances, these rumors remain unconfirmed). Remember the days when artist wore masks and who knew who they were and it was all about the music and the crazy characters they were on stage? Yeah that’s what it reminds me of.

Plus their videos are visually beautiful as if the artwork from their album cover thanks in part to Bao Vo their producer/creative director.

“Legends of Nothing”

“City of Lies”

“A.I.”

Leave a Reply

