Insanity!!!

I’m so busy with work and school (middle of midterms, that’s why there haven’t been posts lately – hopefully I’ll be much less busy after next Wednesday) that I don’t even have time to read my favorite blogs for the last couple weeks but I just signed up for NaNoWriMo. Can we say insane?

13 responses to “Insanity!!!

  1. Dude, you *are* insane. πŸ˜€ I’ve been wondering how you were doing out there. How are classes going? Are you enjoying the program? What are you reading/studying now? Have you met some cool writers to workshop with?

    And I have to ask, do you have a novel in mind for NaNoWriMo? An idea you’ve been toying with for a while, or already started?

  2. Definitely insane ;)! Best of luck on it, though. What’s the basic premise you’re working on?

  3. Ico – Classes are going okay, some I love and some I hate but overall it’s good. Right now I just finished reading Ranier Maria Rilke’s Sonnets to Orpheus and Shakespeare’s Hamlet. There are a bunch of cool people in my worshop class I really like them for the most part, I think there are a couple who just really do not get the fact that I’m writing S/F or what to do with it but overall I think they’re doing me a lot of good.

    The novel idea for NaNoWriMo is just completely letting my id takeover. Basically it’s within the world of a novel I’ve been planning and thinking about for a while but basically it’s a queer urban fantasy with vast conspiracies and interspecies war and interracil/interspecies love. I’m just gonna type what comes to mind no matter how crazy it is and sort it out when NaNoWriMo is done.

  4. Tommy-
    It’s this queer interracial, interspecies urban fantasy romance with mutli-plane conspiracies, time-travel and interspecies war. It’s completely insane but I’ve decided to just let my id run free and whatever comes out, comes out. We’ll see how far I get in the 50,000 words, I do hope for the first time to actually “win” NaNoWriMo.

  5. Sure, we’d be happy to say it: Insane!!!

    Your novel sounds great.

    I think I might do NaNoWriMo, too, as I want to write the second half of a novel (it’s about 50K words right now) I call my AfroCeltic icepunk novel (it’s not on contract, so I can only work on it around the edges of my life, but I think I want to push to finish the entire thing and then see about revising it).

  6. Kate-
    Woohoo! More Nano people! If you end up joining the official website you should find and friend me – my username is Ntilahun.

    AfroCeltic icepunk – sounds like total Awesomesauce! Just those two words made me want to read it right now!

  7. I am looking for beta readers . . .

  8. Kate-
    I’d love to do it. But do you need folks right away? ‘Cause this month is really full for me but next month I’ll be almost done with school and be ecstatic about taking a look at AfroCeltic icepunk!

  9. Right now I’m revising the first half of the book (the second half isn’t written yet), so if you email me when your semester is over, I can send you the first half then (I’m hoping to get a chunk of the second half done in November, but hard to say how that will go as my life is on hold more or less until after the election).

  10. oh – and a premptive ‘thanks!’

  11. “basically it’s a queer urban fantasy with vast conspiracies and interspecies war and interracil/interspecies love.”

    Dude, that sounds awesome! πŸ˜€

    Funny, I’ve never actually signed up for NaNoWriMo. Though I am currently trying to write/finish a novel so maybe I’ll look into it and try to use it to give myself momentum.

    Glad to hear workshopping is going well for you! πŸ™‚ I imagine there will always be some folks who don’t get the F/SF thing… but as long as you are getting good feedback that’s okay. And as long as you don’t get any of those nasty profs who insist fantasy is poison (I was literally told this at one point as an undergraduate), or that genre fiction is forbidden in their classes.

    Can’t wait to hear how your novel turns out.

  12. Kate-
    Awesomesauce! I’ll shoot you an email when the semester is done then.

  13. Ico-
    And as long as you don’t get any of those nasty profs who insist fantasy is poison (I was literally told this at one point as an undergraduate), or that genre fiction is forbidden in their classes.
    There was one of those in undergrad, not saying it was poison but banning it in class. I said I would talk to the head of the department and complain that stiffling was not allowed in a creative writing class. I hate that attitude so much it really just pisses me off.

    I’ve tried to do NaNoWriMo before but I’ve never completed it, I hope I can get to 50,000 this year *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

