3 Links for Tuesday

Some things of interest on this Tuesday afternoon:

1. My latest Stargate Atlantis column is up at Fantasy Magazine – Crossing Lines: Stargate Atlantis — There’s No “I” In Team. Check it out, it’s full of snark and bitterness. If this weren’t the last season of the show I’d be breaking up with it. Now another thing you might notice over there is that I’m now listed as staff. I am officially the Co-Reviews Manager, this is one of the reasons I’ve been busy lately but I didn’t want to say anything until I’d been doing it for a while, y’know that whole not jinxing it thing.

2. K. Tempest Bradford’s awesome story Until Forgiveness Comes is up at Strange Horizons. The narrative is written in the form of a newspaper article on the anniversary of an immense tragedy. I don’t want to spoil any of it so I’ll keep mum about the other aspects but the world she creates is so intriguing I can’t help but wish for more stories in the universe. Definitely head over and read it.

3. Finally the Phillipine Speculative Fiction Sampler, this was just pointed out to me today so I haven’t had time to check it out yet but I’m excited to see speculative fiction coming out of other countries. The speculative fiction community is so focused on the U.S. and England (and to a lesser degree Canada) and ignores the fact that there are people writing this genre all over the world. As it says in the introduction:

However, as prolific or talented Filipino writers might be, one of my concerns is that their work doesn’t get read outside of the Philippines, or even Metro Manila for that matter. And in this day and age of the Internet, it’s not an impossible hurdle to overcome. That’s not to say Filipino writers aren’t being published abroad or online. They’re even being acknowledged in anthologies like The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror. In case of the former though, that only accounts for a small percentage of our output and in the case of the latter, prospective readers don’t really have convenient methods of reading the said work.

2 responses to “3 Links for Tuesday

  1. Oh noes, the link to the story in #2 is broken!

  2. Nenena
    Sorry!, All fixed now.

Leave a Reply

