We Don’t Get This.

So while I was rejuvenating last week and re-finding inspiration and all that hippy-dippy shit I saw something that made me angry. It was this:

Now let’s ignore for the moment that this latest in the way too long line of “Seth-Roganesque/40-Year-Old-Virgin/SuperBad/socially-awkward-boy-meets-beautiful-intelligent-articulate-girl-who somehow-falls-for-his-dumbass/storyline-that-was-already-done-and-done-better-in-the-eighties/just-playing-to-socially-awkward-guys-who-live-in-their-parents-basement-to-try-and-convince-them-that-no-really-totally-smart-funny-with-it-girls-are-just-waiting-for-you-to-drag-them-to-the-depths-of-mediocrity-really-would-we-lie?” films shows that we’ve reached a point where even the illusion of diversity is totally unnecessary. Watch that trailer. Try to spot a Person of Color anywhere in the cast or background. I saw it 20 times this past week and I couldn’t see one but I might have missed it, so please let me know if you spot one because it seems to me as if there are no People of Color in that weird pastiche of the 70s/80s/90s these movies are all set in. Okay *deep breath* leaving that behind. What really annoys and angers me about these films is that People of Color don’t get to have these narratives.

We don’t get to have the fun summer of growing up film, we don’t get to show our childhoods on screen unless they are somehow tragic. In discussing this with one of my housemates she said the closest film she can think of is Roll Bounce – I’ve never seen it (How many of you have? Or even heard of it? I remember hearing a little bit of something and then it was gone like a whisper in a wind storm) but from what she told me about it it does sound like what I mean. Now obviously that means that sometimes the story does get lit for production, one could maybe argue that Love Don’t Cost A Thing (a remake of 80’s Can’t Buy Me Love) fits the mold as well. But overall the stories of Youths of Color tends to center on Boyz In The Hood  or Hustle & Flow where the story can be about how bad the ghetto is and how hard it is to try and rise above that and we almost inevitably end up dead or right back where we started thereby allowing the audience to feel sympathy for us and at the same time not have to deal with the idea of relating with a Person of Color on an equal level.


(In this one there’s at least a couple of Asian side characters)

And it’s not that the story of the ghetto and the particular intersection of  -isms that result in ghettos don’t need to be explored or aren’t true for some people but that should not be the only stories we get. I want the wild night out story of our own. I want to see the spectrum of People of Color experience on the silver screen. I want to be able to see a film that has the growing up story of a young middle class Latina girl, one where she’s not sexually assaulted, abused, arrested, demonized. I want to see a movie with an all Asian cast but that’s not about overachieving drug dealers (Better Luck Tomorrow) hell we can’t even get an Asian cast when the actual people the story is based on are Asian (21).

Now one could argue there’s no market for these films but that’s a massive oversimplification that ignores the critical and box office success of such films as Waiting To Exhale, Eat Drink Man Woman, Harold & Kumar, Soul Food, Like Water For Chocolate and Independence Day. Now the last may seem like a stretch from what I’m talking about but it fits as well because when I say “We Don’t Get This.” I’m not only talking about the frat-boyish/awkward-teen/buddy-buddy movie genre. I’m talking about the fact that we don’t get a huge diversity of characters so to have a Sci-Fi film where the two heroes are and African-American man and a Jewish man was a huge deal. In all of the movies I list Actors of Color were allowed to play roles that are usually not written  for them and they received praise for their portrayals.

So why don’t we see more films like those?

Because audiences are taught not to expect anything but tragedy from films featuring People of Color. We are conditioned by society in general and media depictions specifically to accept that People of Color can only fall into one of two roles, the ridiculous sidekick or the tragic hero who dies winning/lives on without any changed circumstances/without fulfilling their dream. Even when we prove that stories about us can be hits, that we can be a box office draw it doesn’t seem to open the door for other films that stretch the perceptions of People of Color. It doesn’t get us our own Sleepless in Seattle or When Harry Met Sally. We still get the occasional non-sterotypical role green-lit but it doesn’t happen that often and when it does happen it rarely gets the promotion or press coverage that it deserves. Yet, I could not turn around without seeing a commercial for the hot-crap-on-screen that is Adventureland.

The movies I listed are exceptions (excluding for Like Water For Chocolate which is definitely a tragedy in my mind) but simply look at the movies that People of Color as actors win Oscars for – Sidney served as labor for some German nuns for no pay. Halle had to play the tragic poor beat down by life black woman and Denzel had to die in war and play a crooked cop, Whoopi was the comic relief/fake-psychic. And I’m not at all saying that they did not deserve the awards they received what I’m trying to get across is that audiences are more comfortable praising us and awarding us accolades is we play a certain role. If anything the actors mentioned deserved to win more than one Oscar a piece for other fantastic roles that stretched their acting prowess.

The sad part is that I like these kinds of films. I would almost definitely enjoy Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist if I were to see it. But I can’t help but wonder when we get to run around Manhattan all night having a good time? When do our crappy summer jobs get chronicled?

8 responses to “We Don’t Get This.

  1. What you said. I swear things have gotten worse, actually, just in the last couple of years (like with the whole Avatar Airbender casting, although i have to admit I’ve never seen the anime) with the whitewashing of casts.

    Also, I loved your long hyphenated adjective for Seth Rogan movies. What is up with their popularity? I just don’t get it. For me, such movies are yawnsome and completely exclusionary of so many.

  2. Kate –
    Also, I loved your long hyphenated adjective for Seth Rogan movies. What is up with their popularity?

    Thanks! And yeah I really cannot understand the popularity of the Seth Roganesque movies either. I mean at first I thought it was about trying to show that “socially awkward” was in the eye of the beholder and that you could still succeed – i.e. Napoleon Dynamite and I could at least understand that even if I never found the movies interesting enough to watch. But as time has gone on the purpose seems to be that socially awkward guys can be just as shallow, sexist and privileged as anyone else. It’s really telling that it’s never a socially awkward girl, or at least she’s never the main character.

  3. Or, if it is about a socially awkward girl, it turns out she can shed her glasses, get some makeup and new clothes, and be totally HOT.

  4. At 2:04 in the Adventureland trailer, there’s a black woman dancing behind one of the white stars.

    Which diminishes your point not at all.

  5. Kate-
    That’s right I forgot about that! Take that socially awkward girl and stick her in a lycra pantsuit, contact lenses and blow out that hair – she’ll look just like Heidi Klum. Because the lesson for boys is “Eventually sopmeone will like you for you.” while for girls it’s the same continual and constant “Sex It Up!”. Ugh.

    Tablesaw-
    I appreciate you taking the challenge seriously and I feel like I should give you a prize of some sort for spotting a Person of Color. It’s like Where’s Waldo.

  6. The Where’s Waldo mention is going to haunt me now forever on those rare occasions I watch network shows or film trailers. I mean, I kind of already do it, but not with the direct Waldo reference hanging in my head! Did I mention how many times we looked through those books when my kids were little?

  7. Pingback: Seth Rogan « Words From The Center, Words From The Edge

  8. As I see it, there seems to be a double standard and I’m not sure who is holding onto that standard. It seems that when a movie is made about an African-American it has to make a statement or say something about who we are, why? When movies such as Adventure Land and Napoleon Dynamite are made they really don’t say much to anyone about anything . . . they are a non-relevant production. They pretty much are an exaggeration of what it is to be awkward and to realized that we all feel awkward about something at sometime.

Leave a Reply

